Communiqués from Cowtown

Goodbye Hedonism, Hello Diaper Genie….

A Typical Night… January 15, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — nickihem @ 6:45 am

Click on the photos to make them larger and enjoy the illustrated story of a typical night with the Bee…

beesleep.JPG 12:00 Midnight After numerous unsuccessful attempts at laying her down in her crib, mama finally gives up, throws on the baby sling, and totes the wide-awake Bee around, circumnavigating the entirety of the upstairs floor repeatedly as The Bee looks perfectly content but hardly sleepy.

beesleep1.JPG 12:15 a.m. Success! The Bee begins to lose control–she can no longer keep her eyes open; they’re getting heavier by the moment and just in time! Mama’s back is about to break in half… Things are looking good and Ry says, “look at that, she’ll sleep through the night tonight…”

beesleep2.JPG12:18 a.m. – It looks like Ry’s right. She’s fast asleep; aside from opening her eyes open just the slightest bit to make sure she’s still the center of the action there’s no rousting her now…. we think….

…At this point, we quietly lay her down in her crib and tiptoe away, ever so softly….

And then…

daddydrank.JPG1:00 a.m. – 3:00 a.m.- A picture is worth a thousand words. You go, daddy…. When all else fails, crack open a cold one, strap on the baby-backpack, and wait for the sun to come up.

I think we all managed to fall asleep at 6:00 a.m.

 

4 Responses to “A Typical Night…”

  1. superha Says:

    I REALLY feel for you guys. That’s a hilarious picture of your husband. I have many memories of trying to put Ash down and having her wake up. Wait, that still happens! Doh!

  2. supermom Says:

    I totally think you hubby rocks. Any dad who is willing to strap that little on to his chest so that she can sleep, is just great. I hope you all get some more sleep soon!

  3. MOT Newbie Says:

    We are expecting number three in April and I have every intention to show this picture of your husband to my wife! I told her I could pull this off!

    I will say this, we no longer have to rely on our annoying alarm clock. My two oldest have now completely ingrained their internal clock to wake up between 5:30 and 6 every morning…every every every morning, no matter what. Not even daylight savings time threw them a curve…5:30 and 6 every morning. On the doting parent side, I just tell myself that they are preparing us for number three. Such considerate boys.

  4. Joe M Says:

    I’m expecting number two in about 4 weeks now. This really beings me back to number one, so I think I’ll have to remember that trick.

    The beer one, I mean.


Leave a Reply

